Press "Enter" to skip to content

More than 50% of working women in 7 states of Northeast, but not a single case of sexual harassment at the workplace


  • Most cases were filed in Bihar in 2013 to prevent sexual harassment of women at the workplace
  • This information was given by the Women and Child Development Minister Smriti Irani in the Lok Sabha in the Lok Sabha recently.

new Delhi. The lowest cases of sexual harassment have been found in the states where most women work in the state. Especially in the North-eastern states where 50% of women are women, but not a single case of sexual harassment is registered. According to the law made in 2013 to prevent sexual harassment of women at work place, most cases were registered in Bihar. There was no single case registered in 2014 and 2015 after the law was created there. But, in 2016, 73 cases were registered, which is the highest in the country. Recently, this information was given by Women and Child Development Minister Smriti Irani in the Lok Sabha.

In 2014, there were 57 cases in the country, 119 in 2015 and 142 cases in 2016 were registered under this law. A total of 119 cases were registered in 2015. Of these, 36 cases were registered in Delhi. In the meantime, Minister of State for Civil Aviation Hardeep Singh Puri also provided details of harassment cases during the flight. Told that in three years (2014-2016) 15 cases of tampering and misbehavior with women crew members were registered in the airline companies. Of these, 10 cases related to Air India, 2 Indigo, 2 Extra and one case are related to Jet Airways.

State where most cases were registered

state 2014 2015 2016 Job workers
Bihar 0 0 73 17.8%
Delhi 11 36 9 11.7%


10 27 11 32.8%
Telangana 5 32 8 23.7%
Andra Pradesh 3 3 7 47%
Kerala 6 0 8 23.7%
Par. Bengal 4 6 0 20.5%

The state where the number of working women is the highest, the case is not the same

state Job workers
Mizoram 59%
Nagaland 55.9%
Arunachal 51.6%
Meghalaya 49.9%
Sikkim 48.2%
Tripura 45.3%
Manipur 46.4%

No cases in these states: Arunachal, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Jammu-Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, Tripura, Sikkim, Uttarakhand, Andaman-Nicobar Islands, Dadar and Nagar Haveli, Daman Diu and Puducherry. (Research: Uddita Parihar)

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Disclaimer - OBN is an informational website which aims to give the latest blockchain related news to the readers. Articles on OBN should not be considered as investment advice. Trading cryptocurrencies is a high-risk investment, every user is advised to consult an expert before making any decisions.